My Vacation: The Drive!

3 Sep

So I am officially back in town and today will be day one of my vacation blog! Some of you already know (because I was texting you when I had cell service) that my vacation was not exactly as planned. It still ended up being a lot of fun and had a bonus that I didn’t expect and had always really wanted to do!

On Wednesday evening I packed my luggage into my car and drove up to my parents house for dinner and a nap before leaving. We loaded up our rental, a Toyota Sienna Van, and headed north at about 3:00am! We decided that the best option was to leave early and drive straight up to Sandusky, OH. We only stopped for the occasional need for gas, potty breaks and food. Our trek took us through Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia and finally Ohio! Thanks to my birthday present from my mom, a Garmin Nuvi 350 we didn’t need a map! It was pretty funny listening to her telling us to keep left on I-77 about a hundred times! Kept me awake while driving!

Dad drove first and got us almost through South Carolina. I then took over and began the drive north through the mountains. It wasn’t until I started driving that I realized that this may not have been the best idea ever. First, I’m driving a mini-van that is about 5 times bigger and heavier than my little Chevrolet Cavalier. Second, I have lived in Florida since I was 5, so I’ve never driven in the mountains. Finally, it was foggy and rainy the whole way through!

For my first drive through the mountains I was dealing with crappy weather, in fact, almost our entire drive up was in bad weather. I managed to not hit anything and didn’t get any tickets, so I think I did well! It was definitely the most work I’ve ever done driving with the constant turning and constant need to accelerate up the hills or brake down them. Every time we would go through the little valleys mom would point out that the views are really nice here. Too bad I couldn’t see anything because it was so rainy and foggy!

The talk of our trip was our time in West Virginia! West Virginia isn’t a very large state, but I-77 seems to weave through it as much as possible so it felt like we were there forever! Also, I-77 becomes a toll road in West Virginia! That is right, an interstate highway with tolls. It had three toll plazas each with a toll of $1.25. So it cost us $3.75 to get out of that state!

I somehow didn’t manage to get a picture of it, but in West Virginia we stopped for gas and restroom break. The gas station we stopped at was truly a one stop shop! It had gas and the regular convenience store goodies but it also sold ammo and was an official “Game check point.” This means that on your way out on your hunting trip you can pick up your bullets and on the way back get your kill checked/recorded so that you were legal!

Once we got to Ohio the rain continued but I passed the driving duties back to dad. In Ohio we drove off the interstate which took us through some farmland and apparently through Ohio Amish country! We saw a number of buggies being pulled by horses like this:

Passing a buggy!

Passing a buggy!

We finally arrived in Sandusky at about 7:30pm and were done with driving and the rain. Luckily our hotel had a T.G.I. Fridays attached so we had dinner after checking out the hotel. Tomorrows post will be about our hotel. You’ll see what major trauma happened to me there! Tune back in tomorrow!

4 Responses to “My Vacation: The Drive!”

  1. Kati September 3, 2008 at 11:31 am #

    That’s a long day of driving!

  2. kori September 8, 2008 at 1:53 pm #

    i wanna buggie

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Vacation: The Resort! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - September 4, 2008

    […] 4, 2008 by Joe O. After the very long drive up to Sandusky from Florida we arrived at our hotel resort. We booked a package at Cedar […]

  2. My Vacation: The Rides! Part One « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - September 5, 2008

    […] 5, 2008 by Joe O. After the long drive and a night in the hotel resort came a long day at the park. We arrived early and I took the […]

Leave a Reply

