Pandora Radio Closing?

23 Aug

Rocking

Rocking

Say it ain’t so! Remember when I shared with you my new favorite internet radio site, Pandora? No? Check it out here! Well I saw on G4TV’s Attack of the Show during The Feed segment that Pandora may be closing.

The Feed’s article cites a Washington Post article with Pandora’s founder Tim Westergren.

As you’ll read, it all comes down to money, and that is sad. Royalty fees are climbing too high for a service like that to keep above water. I’m still not sure why the artists and labels would want that much money from a “webcast”. The audio isn’t quality enough to replace a CD or downloaded mp3, so people aren’t stealing these songs. I’ve even purchased songs/albums from what I heard on a “webcast”.

I would think it would be like free advertising.

Anyways, I’m not sure what we could do, but maybe if everyone keeps using Pandora everyday and get their site hits up it will raise their ad revenue and keep it alive? I don’t know any other way but I don’t really want it to close because then I would have to find a new internet radio service to use!

2 Responses to “Pandora Radio Closing?”

  1. mom August 23, 2008 at 8:53 am #

    there is radio on the internet??? what is wrong with radio on the radio????? does this internet get rid of the DJs??? I hate the DJs

  2. djs=bitches August 24, 2008 at 3:32 pm #

    i too h8 the djs!!!
    stupid ppl closing pandora
    ???
    why they close pandora stupid money
    !
    i hate those stupuid people they are lame!!!

Leave a Reply

