Tropical Storm Fay

21 Aug

So, that was overblown. I can’t believe school was canceled and I was told to “hunker down.” Mom hates “hunker down.” I’m not sure where “hunker down” came from, but I remember the first time I heard it was during the 2004 hurricanes and ever since then every radio host, TV host and weatherman seem to say it whenever a topical disturbance approaches. I’m not sure I know exactly what it means.

According to FreeDictionary.com it’s number one definition is “to crouch or squat.” Is that what I’m supposed to be doing? If so, I guess I’m a bad person because I prefer to sit comfortably on my couch during a hurricane.

I’m not trying to say that people should not prepare for storms, but really, you should be prepared all the time in Florida. I could not believe the lines of people at all the gas stations and banks along with the huge crowds at grocery and hardware stores. I always have some water sitting around just in case and I normally try to fill up the tank in my gas tank when it reaches 1/2 tank, so I don’t have to fight for gas when a storm comes.

I also noticed quite a few hurricane shutters going up in my neighborhood which I guess is good to be prepared, but maybe a little overkill.

All in all it rained A LOT at my house, but it seems to rain more there than it ever did at my parents house. Everything is fine at my house, my parents house and all of my friends that I have spoken to and I thank God for that. Here’s to another quiet hurricane season even if I enjoy sitting outside watching the rain blow sideways!

One Response to “Tropical Storm Fay”

  1. sunshinekmp August 21, 2008 at 5:01 pm #

    The bad weather has picked up this afternoon. The past two days were very light rain if any…today is lots of rain and gusty winds. Currently there is a Flash Flood warning. We’ve almost got white caps in the pool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

