Slow boat to China?

20 Aug

So on July 28th I ordered a few items using my mom’s amazon.com account (she was paying and most of the stuff was for her).

We purchased a 6 foot HDMI cable (for her new DVD player) a Jumbo Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Water Fountain, a medium Petmate Deluxe Fresh Flow Water fountain (for me) and replacement filters for both the fountains. All purchased in one order. These 5 items shipped separately. 5 separate shipments!!

I understand Amazon sells a lot of other companies items, and that is fine, I find many times Amazon has the best price, so I can deal with multiple boxes. What I didn’t understand is why the one thing for me ended up taking so long.

Ordered on July 28th, it didn’t ship until August 11th! It shipped from Seattle, Washington. It then traveled to Redmond, Washington before making a stop in Indianapolis, Indiana. From Indy it went to Doraville, Georgia (where?) and made a stop in Jacksonville, Florida. Finally it made it to Altamonte Springs, Florida and was put on a truck for delivery.

So Monday, August 18th, my kitties water fountain was delivered (to my parents house). Three weeks? Six cities? The item never showed as being on back order. In fact, its page still says you can buy it and have it delivered overnight if you so wish. I guess this was punishment for my continued use of Amazon’s free shipping!

I guess it was worth it since the price at my local PetCo is three times as much as Amazon’s price, but really, in this day it shouldn’t take three weeks to ship anything!

2 Responses to “Slow boat to China?”

  1. sunshinekmp August 20, 2008 at 9:34 am #

    I think it is for the use of free shipping. Sometimes it works in your favor and you still get it quick and sometimes they are trying to show you that you should have paid for shipping! 🙂

  2. Joe O. August 20, 2008 at 9:47 am #

    But why would they hold ONE of the 5 items for 2 weeks? And why did it have to be MY item!?!?!

Leave a Reply

