Choosing a partner based on immune systems?

14 Aug

So I found this article which says that the pill inhibits a woman’s natural ability to choose a man with complimentary genes and a strong immune system. Really?

Women are attracted to men based on the smell of their immune system? Your immune system is smellable?? (I’m not sure if that is a word, but you understand!)

I’m just blown away by this. I don’t get sick very often so I’m assuming I have a strong immune system, so why don’t I get the girls? What does a good immune system smell like? Maybe I should invent a cologne called “Strong Immune System” and market it to ugly guys like me.

2 Responses to “Choosing a partner based on immune systems?”

  1. mom August 15, 2008 at 5:56 am #

    ugly really?

  2. erin August 19, 2008 at 8:20 pm #

    i second your mom with saying ugly? shut up, kid.

    also, i read something on this too – and what i inferred is that is was more that females picked a mate based on something that would counteract their bad genes – so not necessarily just strong immune systems, but things that can cancel out their defective genes? i don’t know. i am not a scientest. but i think it’s more specific.

    as for smelling, isn’t that kind of the science of pheremones? you can’t really smell it, but it’s there?

Leave a Reply

