Scars on Broadway – Review

8 Aug

So this will be a first for my blog. Today, for my 100th post, I will be reviewing a new album. Scars on Broadway’s self titled debut is pretty much what you would expect from System of a Down, if you were expecting a System of a Down album without Serj Tankian.

The album is full of all the political angst, irreverent humor and tongue in cheek blasphemy that would expect from Daron Malakian. With lyrics like “I like suicide mixed with Jesus Christ” and “when you sing lalala for the haters got your back. California’s been invaded by a hippy psychopath” you know that while there is a serious message somewhere in the album there is also some lyrics that you must take with a grain of salt.

The most political song is probably “Enemy.” The chorus goes like this:

I know it’s really hard to see
That we are the enemy
I know it’s really hard to see
That we are the enemy of the earth

The music is right in line with the more recent System of a Down albums and is excellent in the way it supports each lyric and in its technically proficiency. You definitely don’t hear power chord after power chord in this music and I appreciate that most of the songs don’t follow the Verse, Chorus, Verse, Chorus, Bridge, Chorus approach that seems to be so popular in “Pop” music.

Overall I believe that Scars on Broadway’s lyrics are not as strong as System’s stuff with a lot more repetition. For Example, the song “Babylon” consists of these lyrics”

Running to Babylon
Run all the way to Babylon
Meet you there in Babylon
Meet you there in Babylon

Marooned again, you were the one that threw me into life
Marooned again, you were the one that looked through the sadder light
I liked the way we slept on rooftops in the summertime
If we were all marooned again, I’d give my soul to save you

Oooooooooohhhhhhhhh…..
Oooooooooohhhhhhhhh…..

For a nearly 4 minute song, that isn’t a lot of lyrical content.

After two or three times listening through the album my current favorite song is “Kill Each Other/Live Forever” but that may be partially due to my current mood.

“Kill Each Other/Live Forever” (live)

Overall I enjoyed the album a lot. I do think that Daron is in need of Serj’s vocal prowess to help carry an album and that the two of them complimented each other so much in SOAD that it is tough to see them headlining competing bands. I also believe that the album wasn’t as well rounded as I would have hoped. Many of the songs sound very similar.

I would give this album a 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Bonus video:

Official video for Scars on Broadway’s first single:

“They Say”

Political song anyone?

4 Responses to “Scars on Broadway – Review”

  1. infijess August 8, 2008 at 12:08 pm #

    Note to self … make sure to have headphones when reading Joe’s blog. I miss out on all the good stuff!!

  2. Joe O. August 8, 2008 at 1:51 pm #

    You’ll want headphones tomorrow too! Well…you’ve already heard tomorrows…

  3. BigBan August 17, 2008 at 2:57 pm #

    Oh, Thanks! Really amazing. Big ups!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Websites tagged "scars" on Postsaver - August 27, 2008

    […] – Scars on Broadway – Review saved by pankkake2008-08-17 – Priorities and sacrifices saved by khunglong2008-08-08 – The […]

Leave a Reply

