Fruity Beer

3 Aug

Fruity beer seems to be the new thing in beer. Well, I guess fruity is just the new thing in everything!

Anheuser-Busch is now selling a beer called “Wild Blue” which is a blueberry ale. As the Anheuser-Busch press release says “Not suited for timid or reserve beer drinkers…” this is a real alcoholic beverage with an alcohol content of 8%. That is more than your average beer (Budweiser is 5% – check out this cool list I found!) but it isn’t noticeable at first. That is because this beer is absolutely, by far, the sweetest beer I’ve ever tasted. We got to taste it at my first visit to Busch Garden’s Brewmaster’s Club (Yes, now I’ve been to BGT’s and Sea World Orlando’s!).

This is not a beer you drink when you are looking to finish off a six pack by yourself and I wouldn’t recommend pairing this beer with most “beer food.” So don’t crack this open while you are grilling those chops!

While this Blueberry Ale is starting to spread throughout the US, I saw a report on Slashfood.com linking to this page talking of the upcoming arrival of Früli in America. Früli is a Belgium Wheat mixed with strawberry juice, yum?

I like strawberries more than I like blueberries, but beer? I just don’t know if I can be a fan of fruity beer!

One Response to “Fruity Beer”

  1. sunshinekmp August 3, 2008 at 1:58 pm #

    So because of its alcohol content it is likely not a girlie beer either then? 🙂

Leave a Reply

