Pleasure Island Closing!

28 Jun

I don’t normally post twice in one day but this is breaking news and I just learned about it!!!!

A sad day is coming. Disney has announced that all of the clubs at Pleasure Island will close in September. Disney already has a FAQ up here. Ever since Disney added the West Side shopping district Pleasure Island was in the way. Two family friendly areas separated by a large “Adults Only” area wasn’t going to work. We thought we saw the solution when Disney opened Pleasure Island’s pathways and added a couple restaurants and kiosks to service the families during the day, but keeping the clubs pumping after dark.

Unfortunately, we had only seen the beginning. Disney is going to “re-imagine” the area with family friendly shopping and dining options. Meaning it will be JUST like the other two parts of Downtown Disney. I really think that Disney is making a mistake. I believe that Pleasure Island catered to a different type of crowd and by eliminating all the clubs, these tourists and locals will go elsewhere. Where will they go? The newer, better and soon to be only game in town. City Walk at Universal.

Why would Disney choose to push customers away to its biggest competitor? Doesn’t make business sense to me…

There is another article about it from the Orlando Sentinel here. Your last chance to dance on the spinning dance floor at Mannequins or to hear some stand-up at The Comedy Club is September 27th.

3 Responses to “Pleasure Island Closing!”

  1. Tzeup! July 31, 2008 at 1:21 am #

    Hi –

    I just heard about this fantastic place closing for good, and I still can’t believe it.

    Mannequins is like no other. The sound system was the best in all of Florida, and the light show was great too. Best of all were the people. You got to meet lots of cool kids but lots of fun adults too. The doormen never gave anyone a hard time about how they were dressed. They just said, come the F on in..

    Mannequins has alot of sentimental value to me for reasons I will keep to myself. Of course, businesses have to evolve and its incredible that PI has been open for 19 years. Good job, Disney…

    Of course I hate the fact that it’s being replaced for more stupid stores packet with overpriced junk for silly tourists to buy. Disney Marketplace is already so huge that you would think this would be enough.

    Then again, if I was the bean counter for this peace of property I would argue that the club section only made money 5 hours a day, compared to the 12+ hours a day it could be making money.

    I bet that same bean counter used to dance and party at mannequins, but is now some miserable old coot who can’t remember or can’t see what a surprisingly cool place Mannequins and PI really is.

    Goodbye PI, and goodby Mannequins. You, your gusts and your employees will really, really be missed.

  2. Tzeup! July 31, 2008 at 1:23 am #

    ps: Sorry for my terrible spelling. who knew I couldn’t edit my posts afterwards? dang…

  3. Joe O. July 31, 2008 at 6:17 am #

    I too have been beaten by the horrible misspelling virus. Editing for comments would be nice, but I think everyone understands the gist of it.

    Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

