Great Orlando Wheel

21 Jun

So this isn’t new but it was new to me. The Great Wheel Corparation has purchased a large chunk of land near the Orange County Convention Center to build a 400+ foot tall Ferris wheel type thing! Fully enclosed and air conditioned means it will be very similar to the London Eye. In fact, according to this article about the purchase The Great Wheel Corp was founded by members of the team that built the London Eye.

The location of this new wheel intrigues me because it is going to be right next to the Sea World Orlando parking lot. I used Google Maps to zoom on the approximate location (look here) and am assuming it will be in one of the undeveloped “green zones.” At the top of that map you will see the OCCC West Concourse (where I work) and towards the bottom Sea World Orlando.

As you can see from Google Earth, there isn’t anything spectacular to look at. I’m guessing that at 400+ feet you will be able to see downtown and the Walt Disney World Resort area, but even then, is that enough of a draw to sell $30+ tickets?

The “Venetian Themed” hotel proposed looks intriguing. It’ll probably be a lot nicer than most of the hotels in that immediate area and will help convention business, hopefully. I am worried about traffic since the Westwood Connection is one of my super secret shortcuts to get to/from work when I-Drive is clogged.

So what do you think? Will you pay to go up in it?

3 Responses to “Great Orlando Wheel”

  1. Kati June 21, 2008 at 9:03 am #

    I”m thinking….no. 1.Too much $ for that. 2.I’d be too chicken! And now that you gave out your super secret shortcut….you’re screwed!!! 🙂

  2. Kori June 24, 2008 at 11:53 pm #

    yep, or get a friend who works there to give me free tickets…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Great Orlando Wheel UPDATE! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - June 29, 2008

    […] 29, 2008 by Joe O. So, the Great Orlando Wheel that I spoke of in my previous post is now official! It is said to be opening in 2010. The real reason I am updating is to show you […]

Leave a Reply

