Drip…Drip…Drip…

17 Jun

I’M PISSED! A month and a half ago the president of the homeowners association and his wife stopped by the house to ask if they could use my water to water a couple new plants they planted behind my house. I told them no big deal and they said that they would use it for a couple days and if I saw a bump in my utility bill to just send them the bill…

I assumed since my unit is one of three in my building and one of 5 that are within hose distance to the plants that they would use everyones…well…I assumed wrong. Today I get a note from the Kissimmee Utility Authority/TOHO saying that I needed to check my appliances immediately because my meter had to be double checked because it was so high…How high you ask? 26Tgals of usage this month. Last month I used 3Tgals!! They used about 23 Tgals of my water!

I also received a voice mail from the KUA threatening me with fines because I’m violating the water usage laws in drought conditions (we’ve been flooding recently, but that’s another story)…So all this was for what? These plants:

Ugly Plants

They look good don’t they? This picture is today after 23Tgal+ of water AND the last few days it has rained so hard our road flooded…

I believe the reason they were planted was to block the hideous looking metal structure sticking out behind them (from the old golf club/night club) but I didn’t complain about it. I bought my house with it sitting there. Now I’m going to have write letters and make phone calls to try to get them to pay for this…

And yes, I have thoroughly checked every appliance and faucet for a leak and checked the meter with no water running to see it stopped…

One Response to “Drip…Drip…Drip…”

  1. Kati June 18, 2008 at 12:18 pm #

    This is CRAZY!! How can they use that much water!!! I hope they do not give you a hard time with the water bill and they just pay for it! And they should STOP using your water.

Leave a Reply

