Whats in a name?

8 Jun

For those of you who live in the South East, you have probably visited or seen a Publix grocery store. You probably haven’t visited one like mine though.

Being that I moved to Lake Mary when I was 5 and there was a Publix right down the street, I remember the old green vests their cashiers used to wear. Nowadays they don’t wear the green vests which is a serious down grade to me, but that’s another story (this isn’t a fashion blog!).

Last year I moved to Buenaventura Lakes in Kissimmee, FL. As you can probably guess by the name, it is populated densely with Hispanics. Because of that our Publix is special. It’s Publix Sabor  which means it carries different products aimed at the Hispanic market. Most signage is in English and Spanish and the cashiers attempt both English and Spanish. The first thing you may notice while driving by is the logo:

Sabor

You have to know something is wrong when the word “Sabor” is twice the size as the name of the chain. And what does “Sabor” mean? From what I can get by googling it, it means “flavor.” So its just a flavor of a real Publix?

The main problem I have is that with the signs have both English and Spanish when you are walking down an aisle and look up you see the Spanish. You have to look across the aisles to read the English! So I need to be in the cereal aisle to see whats in the baking needs aisle!

The cashiers look down the line while they are cashing out the previous guess and make a judgement call. If they guess that your a gringo like me, they will speak to you in English. If they guess that you are Hispanic they speak in Spanish. Normally this works well but not always. They have never guessed wrong with me, but I have seen them guess wrong on others.

As I said before, they carry different products which should attract the different target customer base. From what I can see this means they carry about 10x more Goya products than a normal Publix. They also have some wonderfully different produce items, though I don’t know what most of them are!

There are definitely pluses and minuses to the Sabor version, but when I get really annoyed I can drive 5 minutes in either direction to find a standard Publix and feel OK again. There are 3 Publix’s within 5 minutes of my house! In fact, there are 6 Publix’s within 5 miles of my house!!!

9 Responses to “Whats in a name?”

  1. kori June 9, 2008 at 8:43 am #

    yes the guess wrong with me everytime. LOL… one even told me since I look spanish I should speak it. *sigh* some ppl are dumb…

  2. sunshinekmp June 9, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    That’s a lot of Publix’s. And our Publix does still wear Green vests but they are a little different from the ones that I used to wear when I worked there in high school.

  3. erin June 9, 2008 at 5:44 pm #

    things i wish san diego had: publix. especially for their fro yo. (also winn dixie, because i miss their diet peach soda, but that’s it.)

    things san diego has a lot of: grocery stores with nothing but people who speak spanish to you, even if you don’t look spanish. also, gross things like carne asada lollipops. (i kid you not.) does publix sabor have them???????

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Harvest Moon by Blue Moon « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - September 2, 2008

    […] part of Blue Moon’s seasonal collection and I saw it sitting on the shelf at my local Publix Sabor. I’m assuming this is their Fall seasonal and its not quite fall here in Florida, especially […]

  2. Marie’s Blue Cheese Vinaigrette « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - October 16, 2008

    […] first, that I can remember, to have this dressing and I have loved it, but finding it at my local Publix Sabor has been a challenge. Just so happened that I was shopping at Wal-Mart on Monday and saw a single […]

  3. Marie’s Blue Cheese Vinaigrette « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - October 16, 2008

    […] first, that I can remember, to have this dressing and I have loved it, but finding it at my local Publix Sabor has been a challenge. Just so happened that I was shopping at Wal-Mart on Monday and saw a single […]

  4. Healthy Choice Fresh Mixers « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - November 9, 2008

    […] purchased these at my local Publix Sabor where they were on sale at 2 for $5 which I must say is a good deal for a quick, easy and tasty […]

  5. Batter Blaster Review! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - December 9, 2008

    […] to a tip from my favorite keeper of monkeys I found Batter Blaster in my local Publix Sabor. Not only that, but it was one sale, […]

  6. Cheese-Stuffed Meatloaves and Two Sides « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - January 23, 2009

    […] that my mom gave me and it looked so good that after getting home from Disney I decided to run to Publix Sabor and pick up what I needed. Being that this was a Publix Apron’s Simple Meal you can go HERE […]

Leave a Reply

