Whataburger!

5 Jun

Yesterday I was running errands about lunch time and was starting to feel a little hungry. As I was driving down John Young Parkway and saw the sign for Whataburger. I’ve driven past Whataburgers in the past and heard they were very good fast food establishments, so I stopped in.

I went through the drive-thru and ordered their #1 value meal, the Whataburger with fries and a drink. The friendly gentleman then asked me if I wanted to “whatasize” it, I wasn’t that hungry, and then asked if I would like cheese, jalapenos or bacon on my burger I chose just cheese. I then ordered my usual drink at any fast food establishment, a Dr. Pepper with no ice.

He then repeated my order and I could actually understand what he said. When I got to the “pay window” he turned to me, looked straight at me and again repeated my entire order (including the no ice!). I was impressed since he probably will see a few hundred customers through that drive-thru today. I gave him my debit card and he quickly charged it and returned it to me. As he did he said something that I won’t soon forget. He said “Thank you, and we’ll see you tomorrow.”

I’m sure that is part of the corporate schtick, but when compared to McDonald’s and Burger Kings near rudeness in the drive-thru this was very nice.

When I got the “pick up window” the nice lady AGAIN repeated my entire order before handing it to me to make sure she had it correct and said “Ketchup’s in the bag, have a wonderful day.” I don’t normally get ketchup when I plan on eating in the car because those packets are a pain, but when I eat at McDonald’s for work I’m ALWAYS taking it back to work and normally have to ask 2 or 3 times for ketchup!

The first thing I try as I drive away are the french fries and amazingly they actually tasted like potatoes! The burger was also excellent with crispy lettuce and pickles and some very fresh tomato slices. As I was digging through the bag I found this:

 Whataburger \

Yes, their “fancy ketchup” comes in a little tub so I COULD use it in the car (awesome!) and in the little baggie was a napkin, salt, pepper and a Whataburger mint. How nice!

Overall the food was excellent for fast food. The service was GREAT and the price was right (just over $5). I would now recommend Whataburger over any of the other fast food chains, so go try it out!

5 Responses to “Whataburger!”

  1. sunshinekmp June 5, 2008 at 10:31 am #

    I don’t believe I have ever seen a Whataburger, although I have heard the name. Might have to check it out one day! I took a peek at the website and they have chicken too so I could eat there! 🙂

  2. InfiJess June 5, 2008 at 12:40 pm #

    I’ve never seen one either. But if they have chicken I can try it out..

  3. Joe O. June 5, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    Both of you and chicken!

    Yes they have chicken!! They even have grilled chicken!! Or fried called the “Whatachick’n”

    Next time I decide to eat lunch at a new place and think I might review it I’ll make sure I pass on my favorite red meat for ya….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2 Be 3 » Blog Archive » Whataburger! - June 5, 2008

    […] Whataburger! I don’t normally get ketchup when I plan on eating in the car because those packets are a pain, but when I eat at McDonald’s for work I’m ALWAYS taking it back to work and normally have to ask 2 or 3 times for ketchup! … […]

  2. Hardee’s « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - July 5, 2008

    […] attempted so far to keep from comparing Hardee’s to Whataburger (which I already reviewed here) but I can go no […]

Leave a Reply

