Aquatica: A Burning Cabana

28 May

Yesterday I went to Aquatica(Sea World’s Water park) with the family and some friends. I’ve been to Aquatica 3 or 4 times now and LOVE the park, but this time my mom decided to rent two Cabanas. This was the first time we went the “Big Kahuna” route. These cabanas are in a private area of the park overlooking the wave pools. You get some free soda, water, a free locker and a discount on food/merchandise around the park. The biggest plus for the cabana’s is the crowd, or lack thereof. The beaches around the wave pools get PACKED! I really REALLY loved the cabana and if you are going and have the extra cash to spend, I recommend it highly!!

Our party consisted of my mom, dad, sister, her hubby, Christine (who works with my mom), Christine’s 8 year old daughter Georgia and me. For most of the day I ended up being Georgia’s ride partner. Since everyone else was either old or found the 80+ degree water too cold I was left chasing the lil one around. Don’t get me wrong, it let me ride the slides a lot more and I had a lot of fun. It really wasn’t until we were leaving that I really began to feel the effects.

First, I apparently failed in my attempt to reapply sunblock in the middle of the day:

Sun Burn!

Second, my muscles are sore. I think I underestimated the toll on my body that would be swimming laps around the “lazy” river or spending 20+ minutes in the wave pool at a time! At the time I felt fine, I even enjoyed it. This morning, not so much. That 8 year old girl kicked my ass!

My only consolation is that today is my sisters birthday and we are going to Kobe Steakhouse tonight!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY KAITI!!!!!!

7 Responses to “Aquatica: A Burning Cabana”

  1. Kati May 28, 2008 at 1:46 pm #

    Wow…next time you should make sure you have lots of sunscreen on! Sounds like you had fun anyhow. Enjoy dinner tonight…..Happy Birthday Kaiti!

  2. Kori May 29, 2008 at 6:55 pm #

    Sucks to be you! I knew white people burned easily! Glad to hear your out having fun.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Looping Water Slide! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - June 18, 2008

    […] 18, 2008 by Joe O. As you may have guessed from my Aquatica review (my most popular post) I live in Florida and enjoy Water Parks. I also enjoy thrill rides. Aquatica […]

  2. big kahuna water park - June 27, 2008

    […] this time my mom decided to rent two Cabanas. This was the first time we went the ???Big Kahuna???https://d0d0joe.wordpress.com/2008/05/28/aquatica-a-burning-cabana/Who says nobody walks in L.A.? LA.comWalking tours reveal hidden L.A. […]

  3. Aquatica Day! « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - July 17, 2008

    […] water park, and it rocks! My most popular post EVER (with over 225 views) is still my post “Aquatica: A Burning Cabana.” I know that it is sad that Anheuser-Busch is being bought out, but I’m still going […]

  4. My Vacation! Challenge Park and Soak City « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - September 12, 2008

    […] slightly difficult to judge this park because when you compare it to the parks we have in Orlando (Aquatica and Wet ‘n Wild) its not all that great, but really, how could it be? This is a water park on […]

  5. Ear Infection « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 22, 2010

    […] guess is that something flowed into my ear while we were checking out the new ride at Aquatica Saturday morning. Yes, we spent a couple hours at Aquatica before having lunch and going to beer […]

Leave a Reply

