Have you bled today?

21 May

Today I donated blood. I try to donate blood as often as possible (once every 2 months for a normal donation) and I encourage everyone who reads this to do the same! You never know when you are going to be in an accident, or need surgery and how valuable that blood could be for you!

Donating blood is actually good for your health!! And ladies, want to lose a pound fast!! Donate a pint of blood!!!!

Today was my first experience with the Alyx machine. As you can read in that link, this machine facilitates what is called a “double red” donation. This means that the machine takes an entire pint of red blood cells and returns the plasma back in to the blood stream. It does it all through ONE needle!! It’s actually really cool to watch and hopefully it will allow my blood to help a few people in need!

Funny part of my day started when “Dee” had to ask me my weight and height to make sure I “qualified” for the Alyx machine. I find this hilarious now because I read online that the requirement for men is 5’1 and 130 pounds!! I’m about a foot taller than that and I think my right leg weighs 130!!

Second funny part was when they were unable to fill the 5 test tubes (used to test your blood for HIV and other diseases) because my blood had clotted the connector. If they were unable to fill the tubes, my blood would be a waste!! After much whispering the “team leader” went behind a small divider and started working on it. I don’t know what she did, but I know that she got the tubes filled, but also spilt a good amount of my blood and had to clean it up.

I’m glad my donation wasn’t a waste!

GO OUT THERE AND DONATE!!! Please

One Response to “Have you bled today?”

  1. Kori May 21, 2008 at 4:39 pm #

    too skinny would die from donating…LOL I’ll tell my hubby to do it.

Leave a Reply

