RANT!

8 May

WARNING: This is a rant…

So today was supposed to be a pretty good day, I worked my 10 hour shift, then drove over to the parents house so that I could install a new video card in my parents computer so my little brother could play the upcoming game “Age of Conan.” It’s one of those big MMO’s like World of Warcraft, and according to my brother it is going to be “THE BEST EVER.”

So this all started over a week ago when I get called over to see that AoC’s website said that the computer would need a little upgrading in order to run. My first response, screw the game, stick with WoW! After a while my brother convinced my mom to spend the bucks and I was commissioned to find the parts and install them. I spent two days researching the video cards looking at HUNDREDS of them to make sure the one I would pick would A.) Work with the computer and B.) Run the stupid game.

So I followed the step by step instructions and the card worked! But now the Ethernet and bus drivers on the motherboard were failing…wierd…no worries, I pull out the laptop and find new drivers and replace them. Now everything is working…YAY! But wait, after a couple reboots the computer gives me the dreaded BSOD!!!! (Blue Screen of Death) NOOOO!! After another hour and a half I get all the drivers reinstalled and it WORKS! But don’t reboot the thing cause the BSOD is back!

Finally I had to rip the card out and install the old one and re-install ALL the drivers again!!! According to everyone’s website (MSI, NVidia, BFG) the card is COMPLETELY compatible with the computer, so now on my next day off (other than tomorrow) I’m gonna have to call BFG (makers of the card) and bitch and bitch and bitch…since my mom dropped over $100 on a card that ain’t working.

I will be spending the day tomorrow at EPCOT’s Flower and Garden festival with my mom. I plan on taking pictures with my new camera and will try to do a nice picture post tomorrow!

One Response to “RANT!”

  1. sunshinekmp May 8, 2008 at 2:00 pm #

    Sorry to hear you had so much trouble. I bet your brother was sad too! Enjoy your day with your mom. I’m sure it will be great. It’s a nice day out.

Leave a Reply

