Pepsi Next

31 Mar

Just the other day I walked into 7-Eleven and found a new soda from Pepsi Cola, Pepsi Next! It advertise’s “Real Cola Taste 60% Less Sugar” which got me REALLY excited for a moment until I noticed the asterisk next to sugar. Their still isn’t any real sugar in Pepsi Next, just High Fructose Corn Crap Sugar.

Pepsi Next!

I decided to go ahead and taste test this new Pepsi Product to help YOU internet reader make a better soda decision. To help you make the BEST decision I’ve decided to taste test Pepsi Next up against Pepsi and Diet Pepsi.

The Showdown!

First some technical stuff to get out of the way. I come in to this taste test with the following soda preferences. I prefer Coke over Pepsi and Diet Pepsi over Diet Coke. My favorite soda is actually Dr. Pepper and I think sodas are WAY better when made with REAL sugar. Dr. Pepper Throwback is amazing and Mexican Coke (served at Bob’s Potatoes) is great! Also, while I enjoy Pepsi Max and Coke Zero (preferably Cherry) I have not included them in this taste test as I believe they fill a different soda taste nook.

Alright, I decided to drink all three straight out of the fridge without any food. No cups, no ice, just the soda out of the 20 ounce bottle.

So what do I think? I actually think it is better than regular Pepsi, but mainly because it doesn’t have that horrible HFCS super sweet after taste. I also think it has more flavor than Diet Pepsi probably because it has some HFCS instead of that aspertane stuff.

Now some facts, Pepsi clocks in at 250 calories for the bottle, Pepsi Next has 100 calories and Diet Pepsi clocks in at 0 calories. It’s very obvious that Pepsi is trying to fill a void between the full calorie and no calorie sodas in their lineup.

The question will come up as to whether it is good enough to take the Zero calorie position from Pepsi Max (which has a better name) or whether it will be good enough to convince Diet Pepsi drinkers to take the extra calories.

I think that I would purchase it again if I was looking for a lower calorie option and Cherry Coke Zero wasn’t available.

One Response to “Pepsi Next”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. PB&J’s? « Eternal Rambling of a Boy With Two Brains - April 1, 2012

    [...] PB&J’s? 1 Apr Yesterday I told you about Pepsi’s newest beverage “Pepsi Next.” [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

